Home > Blackjack Articles

Complete Guide To Casino Blackjack Hall Of Fame

18 Sept 2008

Before we start naming people included in the Blackjack Hall of Fame, let's consider what lies in the basis of it.

The Blackjack Hall of Fame was created in 2002 in San Diego, California. The main aim of it is honoring the greatest experts, authors and professional players of the game of Blackjack.


The Blackjack Hall of Fame started when in the winter of 2002, 21 blackjack experts, authors and professional players had been nominated to be the members of Blackjack Hall of Fame. The nomination of experts was performed via voting on the Internet. The results of the voting were completed in January 2003 at the Blackjack Ball. The host of the event, that was open only for professionals in the game of Blackjack, was Max Rubin. Due to the results of the vote, 7 members were inducted.

One year later, two more members were included due to the results of the votes at the Ball. The nomination since the year 2006 has become the responsibility of the members of Blackjack Hall of Fame and since then they agreed to nominate only one person per year.

Although, neverminding the rules, 4 members joined the Blackjack Hall of Fame in the year 2007 as a group.


The Barona Casino in San Diego, Carolina is the sponsor of the Blackjack Hall of Fame and is the one that accommodates its premises. Each inductee of the Blackjack Hall of Fame is awarded with a lifetime comp of a free full room, food and beverages with, however, all the members sign the agreement never to play in the Barona Casino tables.


Here we provide the complete list of current members of the Blackjack Hall of Fame.

Al Francesco, 2002, one of the most famous players, the co-founder of the concept "blackjack teams".

Peter Griffin, 2002, the author of guide to casino blackjack The Theory of Blackjack.

Arnold Snyder, 2002, the Author and editor of the Blackjack Forum.

Edward O. Thorp, 2002, the author of guide to casino blackjack Beat the Dealer.  

Ken Uston, 2002, the author that popularized the concept of team play, famous for frequently suing the casinos at Atlantic City for the rights of card counters.

Stanford Wong, 2002, author of the guide to casino blackjack strategy called "Wonging".

Tommy Hyland, 2002, the manager of the longest-running blackjack team.

Max Rubin, 2004, famous for being the reporter on gaming events and optimizer of casino comps.

Keith Taft , 2004,the inventor of computerized gambling devices.

Julian Braun, 2005, one of the first authors to use computers in analyzing blackjack statistics.

Lawrence Revere , 2005, the author of Playing Blackjack as Business. Blackjack teacher.

James Grosjean , 2006, the author of Classic Beyond Counting. Successfully sued casinos and the Griffin Agency.

John Chang , 2007, the MIT former manager. The basis of Mickey Rosa in the movie 21.

Roger Baldwin, Wilbert Cantey, Herbert Maisel and James McDermott , (2008), the group called "The Four Horsemen of Aberdeen", the group that while serving in the U.S. army in the 50's created and published the first working accurate guide to casino blackjack the Blackjack basic strategy with the help of desk calculators. The strategy was published in the American Statistical Association.

Back to articles list
Latest offers

200% match

up to $1000

Go to Rushmore casino

200% MATCH

UP TO $8888

Go to Desert Nights

Casino Reviews
Lawrence Revere
Blackjack is the only casino game an amateur can learn to play and at which he can definitely win